What is the N.F. Cimaglia Educator of the Year Award?

The annual N.F. Cimaglia Educator of the Year Award is co-sponsored by the American Association of Cosmetology Schools and Milady. It is a prestigious award given to one educator each year who has exhibited significant contributions toward upgrading standards of educational excellence, particularly within the areas of student involvement.

Who Qualifies?

Nominees must be currently employed as an educator and have at least three (3) years of active employment as an educator in the beauty and wellness industry. Nominees must be able to provide evidence of significant contributions to educational excellence during the immediate past year.

Please note: While Milady is proud to be the primary sponsor of this award, it is not required for nominees to teach using Milady-based curriculum in their school. ALL INSTRUCTORS from ALL SCHOOLS are welcome to apply as long as they meet the criteria.

What is the Prize?

The recipient will receive $2,500 and registration, airfare and hotel accommodations to the CEA Convention, courtesy of Milady.

Nominations for the 2024 Educator of the Year award are now closed. This year’s winner will be announced at the CEA Convention in Houston, July 20–22. The Educator of the Year Award is co-sponsored by Milady and AACS.

Past Winners

2023 – Tia Thackston Phillips
2022 – Pamela Reed
2021 – Amber Litzinger
2020 – Keryl Reid Rabideau
2019 – Shaunna Deal
2018 – David Jones-Estrella
2017 – Shannon Cousineau
2016 – Ida McLean
2015 – Deanna Beaver
2014 – Wendi E. Ingalls
2013 – Kathy Emery
2012 – Melea Blakely
2011 – Patti Black
2010 – Jacqueline Munoz
2009 – Marcia Bird

2008 – Laura Wallman
2007 – Wendy Spangler
2006 – Danny Austin
2005 – Myssi Goldsmith
2004 – Melony Gaudlip
2003 – Lisa Galloway
2002 – Edith Hall
2001 – Iraida Nieves
2000 – Laureida Smith
1999 – Jonathon Nupp
1998 – Tammy Hingtgen
1997 – Kathy Stubblefield
1996 – Fran Brown
1995 – Jerri Dillingham